January 22, 2022


Enjoy cricket with CricActivity !

Australia named their squad for upcoming T20 world cup ; Smith, Warner are featured


T20 world cup is scheduled to play at UAE and Omen. ICC announced full fixtures of T20 world cup recently. Australia will take part in group 1 of super 12. Australia is placed with with West Indies, South Africa and England. While group 2 is consist of India, Pakistan, Afganistan and New Zealand.

Australian team is in the serious concern with their T20I form, they have lost their five straight T20I series. Recently Bangladesh beat them by 4-1. Batting combination will be the main question for them. They have to solve this query before T20 world cup. Steve Smith and Josh Hazlewood are confirmed their availability for IPL 2021 at UAE.

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts, He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.” chairman of selectors George Bailey said

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” Bailey said. “We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.” George Bailey added

Australia’s squad for T20 world cup

Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Inglis

Qualifiers :

Group A : Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B : Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s :

Group 1 : England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2 : India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2